News & Events

Start Dates & Times - 2017 Fall Athletic Team Schedules
Posted 06/14/2017 02:25PM

Unless otherwise noted, dates and times provided are for first meeting/practice for all interested candidates, including freshman.

GIRLS SWIMMING: Info meeting and Ice Cream Social for interested swimmers, 6 p.m., Thursday, August 24, 144 Strawberry St., Lisbon CT. First Practice, Friday, August 25, Windham HS Pool, (bus leaves NFA at 4:45 p.m.). Contact Head Coach Cory Tubbs if you are planning to try out. or at chtubbs@snet.net.

GIRLS SOCCER: 10 a.m., Thursday, August 24, NFA Turf Field.

BOYS SOCCER: 3 p.m., Thursday, August 24, Fontaine Field. Bring running shoes. Contact Coach Robert Briones at brionesr@nfaschool.org.

FOOTBALL: Summer Conditioning starts 7:30 a.m., Monday, June 19, Boys Locker Room (requires participation permission form). All interested Football Players must submit Athletic Participation Packet by August 14. Preseason starts 2:30 p.m., August 14, Boys Locker Room. Players must wear white t-shirt, gray shorts and rubber cleated shoes. Contact Coach Jason Bakoulis at bakoulisj@nfaschool.org.

BOYS CROSS COUNTRY: 6 p.m., Thursday, August 24, Mohegan Park Center. Contact Head Coach Chad Johnson at johnsonc@nfaschool.org.

GIRLS CROSS COUNTRY: 8 a.m., Thursday, August 24, NFA Track. Contact Coach Kara Kochanski can be at kochanskik@nfaschool.org.

GIRLS VOLLEYBALL: Practice/Tryouts are 9 a.m., Thursday, August 24, Norton Gym. Contact Coach Bill Howard at howardb@nfaschool.org.

FALL CHEERLEADING: 4 p.m., Thursday, August 24, NFA Turf Field. Contact Coach Melissa Gil at megraygil@hotmail.com.

FIELD HOCKEY: Practice/Tryouts are 8 a.m., Thursday, August 24, NFA Turf Field. Contact Coach Kara Gabordi at gabordik@nfaschool.org.

All athletes will need proof of a physical on file with the school nurse and a SIGNED Parent Permission Form available here. For further information, contact Director of Athletics, Eric Swallow, at swallowe@nfaschool.org 425-5512, or contact the NFA Medical Center at 425-5552.

Coaches will not accept physical forms. The forms must be given to the school nurse prior to the start of practice. Physicals are good for thirteen months. The Medical Center will be open 8 a.m. – 2:30 p.m., August 9-11 for all student-athletes trying out for fall sports to submit medical information and signed Parent Permission Forms.

305 Broadway, Norwich CT 06360 | Phone: (860) 887.2505

Since 1856, Norwich Free Academy has adhered to the philosophy of its founder to "return to our hamlets and our homes its priceless freight of youthful minds, enriched by learning, developed by a liberal culture, refined by study of all that is beautiful in nature and art, and prepared for the highest usefulness and the purest happiness"

Founder, John P. Gulliver,
NFA Dedication Ceremony (1856)

page tools:
email page print page small type default type large type
powered by finalsite