Skip To Main Content
Winter sports start dates and registration information
 
All student-athletes must register through FamilyID in order to participate. Registration for all winter-season athletes should be complete before November 20. Athletes must be cleared with all necessary paperwork (including a physical) filed before starting an activity. There are no exceptions.
 
More information on the registration process and all student-athlete guidelines can be found here
 
For further information, contact Roy Wentworth, director of athletics, at 860.425.5512 or wentworthr@nfaschool.org. Medical questions can be directed to Jessica Harris, director of our Medical Center, at 860.425.5552 or harrisj@nfaschool.org.
 
Coaches cannot accept physical forms. The forms must be given to the school nurse prior to the start of practice. Physicals are good for 13 months.
 
Boys’ Basketball:  Tryouts for players interested in boys’ basketball are November 30 and December 1. Grades 10-12 will be 2:30 to 5 pm. Ninth graders from 4:30 to 6:30 pm. Students must attend both dates. Questions can be directed to Coach Brown at brownj@nfaschool.org.
 
Girls’ Basketball:   Tryouts for players interested in girls’ basketball are November 27-29 in Alumni Gym. Ninth graders will meet from 2:30 to 4 pm each day, and grades 10-12 will meet from 4 to 6 pm each day. Ninth graders may be asked to tryout with grades 10-12 after the first day. Cuts can be made at any time. Final cuts made November 29.  Questions can be directed to Coach Gomez at gomezc@nfaschool.org.
 
Cheerleading:  Tryouts for the winter season are November 20 and 21 from 5 to 7 pm in Norton Gym. You must attend both sessions. Questions can be directed to Coach Gil at gilm@nfaschool.org.  
 
Indoor Track – Boys’ and Girls’:  The first practice for both boys’ and girls’ indoor track and field is November 30 at 2:45 pm in Norton Gym. Questions can be directed to Coach Koziol at koziolt@nfaschool.org.
 
Fencing:  There are no tryouts, and freshmen are strongly encouraged to join the team. The first practice is November 27 from 6:30 to 8:30 pm in Norton Gym. Conditioning will begin on November 13 and end before Thanksgiving break. More information can be found here. Questions can be directed to Coach Pryor at pryorj@nfaschool.org.
 
Gymnastics:  A mandatory meeting for all interested gymnasts and parents/guardians will be held on November 13 at 5:30 pm in room 3145. Varsity tryouts will take place December 1 from 3 to 5:30 pm at Thames Valley Academy of Gymnastics (transportation provided). Questions can be directed to Coach Carignan at carignant@nfaschool.org.
 
Boys’ Swimming:  A pre-season meeting for athletes and parents will be held November 20 from 4 to 4:30 pm in the multipurpose room above Norton Gym. The first practice is currently scheduled for November 30. Transportation will be provided. Questions can be directed to Coach Cook at cookw@nfaschool.org.
 
Hip Hop Dance Team:  Tryouts for those interested in the recreational team will be November 21 from 3 to 5 pm in the dance studio. Those attending need hip hop sneakers not worn outside. The competitive teams have already been selected. Questions can be directed to Coach Caldeira at caldeiraa@nfaschool.org.
 
Wrestling:  The first practice of the year is November 27 from 2:30 to 5 pm in Norton Gym. There are no tryouts. Questions can be directed to Coach Nelson at nelsons@nfaschool.org.