Annual Class Night & Awards Ceremony


More than $430,000 was awarded to nearly 300 students during the annual Norwich Free Academy Class Night and Awards Ceremony held virtually Wednesday, June 10.

Produced by the Academy’s Communications Department, the program was available for viewing on YouTube and through local public access channels.

Head of School David Klein served as host and introduced Todd Postler ’81, President of the NFA Foundation Board of Directors who spoke about the greater NFA community.

“As alumni, we are linked forever,” Postler said. “Be confident in the knowledge you have gained and know that we, your NFA family, will always be here for you. As we celebrate your achievements, we honor those who made them possible. When you receive your award, look at the description in the program. Get to know the person behind the award. Celebrate and honor them as we, tonight, celebrate and honor you.”

The incredible sum presented by the NFA Foundation went to nearly 300 students in more than 400 academic, athletic and art scholarship awards. The figure does not include any government, corporate or institutional financial aid or scholarships students may receive separately from the those provided by the NFA Foundation and generously provided by Norwich Free Academy’s alumni and friends. The NFA Foundation exists to advance the educational opportunities available at Norwich Free Academy, including the oversight and stewardship of the many scholarship funds that benefit our students.

Senior Class President Silas Gates addressed students and talked about the impact NFA has had on him and his classmates.

“NFA gave us the chance to meet new people, broaden our horizons and step out of our comfort zone,” he said. “Be strong enough to stand alone, smart enough to know when you need help and brave enough to ask for it.”

NFA Teacher of the Year Seth Yarish addressed this challenging time, while also talking about how he is encouraged thinking ahead.

“Difficult times require special actions,” he said. “Our community is going to be in your hands. You are the future, and I feel very comfortable knowing that.”

Shattuck House Principal Kristin Peckrul and School Counselor Kelsey Klaeson announced the winners of each award.

View a recording of the entire ceremony and find the event program here.